Zucchini Tofu Salad

15 Dec

I’m getting along making all the recipes from the Vegetarian Times magazines I have. This one again came out really well. The original recipe called for feta cheese to be used but so much of the cheese here has enzymes (animal or plant dunno) added to it – that I no longer have the patience to dig through each product and mail companies about them.

So I looked up replacements for feta cheese. One blog said Tofu, so tofu it was :). Here’s the ingredients I used and a brief summary of how I did things.  Some lemon juice, grated lemon zest (which is just the skin of the lemon), some garlic finely chopped, some oil to mix everything together were all mixed to sort of create a dressing of sorts.

Peel the zucchini into long thin strips using a vegetable peeler till you’ve had enough. Chop some onion and also some green onions into little pieces and mix it with the zucchini. A good guide I use is to see if I can see onion pieces as I turn the zucchini around, sticking to it. If most zucchini pieces actually have onion, that’s enough – you want the zucchini to be dominant, not onion.

Add the dressing to the vegetables and mix well. Add some mint and parsley, chopped or as a sauce (I had some pesto sauce left over) so I used that. Mix with the rest.

Marinate it overnight or even 2 days in the fridge in a bowl. Crumble some tofu and sprinkle it on top till its all covered. Mix again. Sprinkle a little chilly flakes on top if you want it a little spicy.

If its not sour enough, feel free to add some more lemon juice on top or maybe some vinegar if you like the smell. Salt and black pepper and any other dressing is optional.

Leave a Reply

