Coconut burfi

26 Jan

Been wanting to make this for a long time, the main reason being me having around half a cup of ground coconut powder in the freezer for er a while πŸ˜‰ and wanting to finish that off. Considering that the besan and rava laddoos came out quite well, there wasn’t any reason for this to get screwed – so I figured I’d give this a shot too.

I basically copied Sanjeev Kapoor’s recipe except that I reduced the quanitites for all the components. 1 cup coconut powder, a little less than half a cup of sugar, a little cream, some cardamom powder and since it wasn’t binding too well – I added a little milk as well. Kept stirring till the mixture turned golden brown as mentioned, greased my cookie tray πŸ™‚ with a little oil – nope..no ghee πŸ˜‰ and poured the mixture over.

Made the entire mixture into little balls – for some reason the binding this time didn’t come out great – so I didn’t play around with it too much and just gave it a loose shape – so it wasn’t powdery and kept the tray inside the fridge so it’d harden a little bit.

http://www.sanjeevkapoor.com/recipe/Coconut-Burfi-Mithai.html

It tastes quite good. Maybe some day I’ll make it again and get a perfect shape. No..who am I kidding – I don’t care too much as long as it tastes nice πŸ˜‰ – which it does.

Here’s a pic:

IMG_20150125_213341

Leave a Reply

