Idlis

4 Feb

Well finally I managed to grind and make idlis on my own. All these years I’ve always just poured the batter ground by Mom and made them. I was pretty kicked about it :). Here is the site that I followed to do it.

The only thing that I’d add is to always remember that the quantity of Idli rava should be nearly 3 or 4 times the quantity of the Urad Dal added. Urad Dal also soaks up an insane amount of water too – it almost doubled up in quantity, so make sure you soak it plenty of water, it’s ok if it’s extra, you can just use the same water while grinding.

The recipe on the side mentioned to add methi seeds but I didn’t have them so I didn’t add them. If you’d like to add any other flavor to your idlis (which really I don’t – it’s such a clean clean recipe) add it before you grind.

IMG_20140204_111455

Leave a Reply

