Sooji Halwa/Sheera

11 Jan

So we continued our sweet making at home instead of buying all those overpriced chocolates (which are quite delicious at times..but still..not as healthy as home food :D). This time we tried making Sheera or Sooji Halwa from this website. We followed it exactly except that we used brown sugar and half the quantity of what was mentioned, as brown sugar is very sweet. Turned out quite well. Here’s a pic from Dinesh’s phone

 

20140111_010252

Update: Since I ran out of milk one day I started Googling for recipes without milk instead and found this one. Instead of a half cup ghee, I used 1/4 cup canola oil. Since I was out of cashews and raisins, I used almonds instead. Instead of 3/4 cup sugar, I used a little less than 1/2 cup sugar. I also used less water than was mentioned – although that really depends on the quality of the rava that you use. Came out really really well – next time I’ll use even lesser oil and see how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

